Dehai News


Posted by: Semere Asmelash

Date: Tuesday, 13 December 2022

Biniam Girmay elected African cyclist of the year

Eritrean Biniam Girmay is the winner of the 11th African Cyclist Trophy for the third consecutive year.

December 13, 2022

Eritrean Biniam Girmay is the winner of the 11th African Cyclist Trophy for the third consecutive year. He is the first to achieve this incredible hat-trick.

Biniam Girmay owes this distinction to his successes in Ghent-Wevelgem and on his stage in the Tour of Italy. Never before had an African runner achieved such a performance. This is the seventh time in eleven editions that an Eritrean rider has won this Trophy.

As in 2020 and 2021, Biniam Girmay obtained the highest number of votes from the jury chaired by the five-time winner of the Tour de France, Bernard Hinault and composed of twenty-five members including riders, coaches and African leaders, organizers of cycling events on the continent but also specialized journalists, African and European, who follow all cycling races in Africa.

This Trophy was created eleven years ago by the organizers of the Tropicale Amissa Bongo, always anxious to help the development of African cycling by rewarding the rider from the continent who has achieved the best performances of the season and succeeded by his influence in promote African cycling on the world stage.

Biniam Girmay:  “As for the first two trophies, I feel immense pride. As I said, my victories in Ghent-Wevelgem and the Giro d'Italia were also those of the African continent. I still find it difficult to achieve, to understand what I achieved in 2022. This new trophy crowns my season”.

Credit: Belga/Imago

The 2022 ranking

1- Biniam GIRMAY (Eritrea – Intermarché-Wanty-Gobert)

2- Louis MEINTJES (South Africa – Intermarché-Wanty-Gobert)

3- Natnael TESFAZION Natnael (Eritrea – Drone Hopper-Androni Giocattoli)

4- Moses MUGISHA (Rwanda – ProTouch)

5- Henok MULUEBRHAN (Eritrea – Bardiani-CSF-Faizanè)

6- Daryl IMPEY (South Africa – Israel-Premier Tech)

7- Amanuel GHEBREIGZABHIER (Eritrea – Trek-Segafredo)

8- Dawit YEMANE (Eritrea – Bike Aid)

9- Paul DAUMONT (Burkina Faso)

10- Gustav BASSON (South Africa – Pro Touch)


2012 : Natnael BERHANE (Eritrea)

2013 : Louis MEINTJES (South Africa)

2014 : Mekseb DEBESAY (Eritrea)

2015 : Daniel TEKLEHAIMANOT (Eritrea)

2016 : Tesfom OKUBAMARIAM (Eritrea)

2017 : Louis MEINTJES (South Africa)

2018 : Joseph ARERUYA (Rwanda)

2019 : Daryl IMPEY (South Africa)

2020 : Biniam GIRMAY (Eritrea)

2021 : Biniam GIRMAY (Eritrea)

2022: Biniam GIRMAY (Eritrea)

Dr. Fikrejesus Amahazion at the XXIX International Rosa Luxemburg Conference in Berlin on January

Dehai Events