Dehai News

General Assembly elects 18 members to UN Human Rights Council

Posted by: Semere Asmelash

Date: Thursday, 14 October 2021

General Assembly elects 18 members to UN Human Rights Council

Vlag van de Verenigde Naties General Assembly elected 18 members of the #HumanRights Council ArgentinaVlag van Argentinië BeninVlag van Benin CameroonVlag van Kameroen EritreaVlag van Eritrea FinlandVlag van Finland GambiaVlag van Gambia HondurasVlag van Honduras IndiaVlag van India KazakhstanVlag van Kazachstan LithuaniaVlag van Litouwen LuxembourgVlag van Luxemburg MalaysiaVlag van Maleisië MontenegroVlag van Montenegro ParaguayVlag van Paraguay QatarVlag van Qatar SomaliaVlag van Somalië UAEVlag van de Verenigde Arabische Emiraten USAVlag van de Verenigde Staten
Election of the Human Rights Council (14 October 2021)

In accordance with paragraph 7 of General Assembly resolution 60/251, the Council shall consist of 47 Member States, which shall be elected directly and individually by secret ballot by the majority of the members of the General Assembly.

The membership shall be based on equitable geographical distribution, and seats shall be distributed as follows among regional groups:

  • Group of African States (13)
  • Group of Asia-Pacific States (13)
  • Group of Eastern European States (6)
  • Group of Latin American and Caribbean States (8)
  • Group of Western European and other States (7)

The members of the Council shall serve for a period of three years and shall not be eligible for immediate re-election after two consecutive terms.

In accordance with General Assembly resolutions 60/251 and 65/281 and decision 75/402, the Human Rights Council starts its yearly membership cycle on 1 January.

Member States who have chosen to announce their candidacies in writing are listed below. Voluntary pledges that Member States have chosen to provide in support of their respective candidacies, in accordance with paragraph 8 of General Assembly resolution 60/251, are issued as General Assembly documents in all official languages.


Candidates to the election for the term 2022-2024

African States
(5 vacant seats)
Asia-Pacific States
(5 vacant seats)
Eastern European States
(2 vacant seats)
Latin American & Caribbean States
(3 vacant seats)
Western European & other States
(3 vacant seats)
India [A/76/195]Lithuania [A/76/85]Argentina [A/76/66]Finland [A/76/93]
Cameroon [A/76/280]Kazakhstan [A/76/86]Montenegro (A/76/374)Honduras [A/76/138]Luxembourg [A/76/84]
Eritrea [A/76/326]Malaysia [A/76/83] Paraguay [A/76/65]United States of America [A/76/353]
GambiaQatar [A/76/67]   
SomaliaUnited Arab Emirates [A/76/95]   

NOTE: The Government of the Republic of Fiji withdrew their candidacy on 7 September 2021.


List of current members

Members outlined in bold will retire on 31 December 2021.

African StatesAsia-Pacific StatesEastern European StatesLatin American &
Caribbean States 
Western European
& other States
Burkina Faso (2021)Bahrain (2021)Armenia (2022)Argentina (2021)Austria (2021)
Cameroon (2021)Bangladesh (2021)Bulgaria (2021)Bahamas (2021)Denmark (2021)
Côte d'Ivoire (2023)China (2023)Czech Republic (2021)Bolivia (Plurinational State of) (2023)France (2023)
Eritrea (2021)Fiji (2021)Poland (2022)Brazil (2022) *Germany (2022)
Gabon (2023)India (2021)Russian Federation (2023)Cuba (2023)Italy (2021)
Libya (2022)Indonesia (2022)Ukraine (2023) *Mexico (2023) *Netherlands (2022)
Malawi (2023)Japan (2022) * Uruguay (2021)United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland (2023)
Mauritania (2022)Marshall Islands (2022) Venezuela (Bolivarian Republic of) (2022) 
Namibia (2022)Nepal (2023)   
Senegal (2023) *Pakistan (2023) *   
Somalia (2021)Philippines (2021) *   
Sudan (2022)Republic of Korea (2022)   
Togo (2021)*Uzbekistan (2023)   

NOTE: Member States with an asterisk (*) are currently serving their second consecutive term and are not eligible for re-election.

Election of the Human Rights Council (14 October 2021)

ታሪኽ ቅድድም ብሽግለታ ካበይ ናበይ | The history of cycling and transformation of the sport in Eritrea - ERi-TV